I Thought it was the End of the World…

You leaving was not the end of the world. I thought it was. That day you left, I thought it was the end of the world. I eventually stopped crying and got up off the floor and woke up the next morning. It was not the end of the world, the sun had not exploded, nor had the continents been swallowed by the ocean. I thought that you leaving was the end of the world, and maybe it was, in a way. You leaving was the end of that world, that world with you and I in it, together. I think that world still exists, just not here. In this world I chose to get out of bed and put on a grey shirt and running shorts and I made myself cereal for breakfast and when I checked my phone I did not have a text from you, it felt like the end of the world all over again. I cannot tell you how many times it felt like the end of the world, like when I saw your face again and there was no feelings but bitterness and anger. I went home that day and cried so hard I forgot to breathe. I got up again and went on with my life because the world does not stop just because you broke my heart. The world does not work that way. If your heart is broken that is your problem and you need to find a way to make your own chest stop burning because the Earth is not going to stop revolving around the Sun and time does not have sympathy for anyone. 

Leave a Reply

