I Should Have Told You…

I should have told you I loved you, not in a fun, joking tone, but in an honest and genuine tone so you knew how important you were to me without and hesitation. I told you I loved you, but never enough. I should have told you more. I should have told you that I never meant to hurt you in this life and that I am so sorry for any pain I caused you. I should have told you that no matter what no one could ever replace you, no one could ever come close no matter how long it has been. I should have told you that I would not be close to the person I am today without you and now knowing that you are not here to see who I have become still breaks my heart. I should have told you that every piece of advice you gave me was not taken for granted because now that is all I cling to when I need a little inspiration. Your words are my reminder to love life and they make me feel like you are still here. I should have told you that your laugh was my favorite sound in the whole world and just the sound of it could instantly brighten my day. I should have told you that your hugs felt like home to me and in your arms I felt so safe. I should have held you one more time and never let you go, and then maybe you would still be here. Maybe if I never let go you would never have had to leave me. I should have told you that the thought of you not being in my life scares the hell out of me.I should have told you how much I loved you. I would give anything for one more minute with you.

Leave a Reply

