“Let’s Be Friends”

When you ask if we could be friends this is what you are really asking for: You are asking me to talk to you about other guys and maybe ask you for advice, you are asking me to sped my late nights with someone else, to stay up on the phone with someone else and maybe one day I will cancel on you because I have a date. You are asking me to take back my good morning and good night texts, my undivided attention, you are telling me it is okay if I am not always there for you, you are letting me get away with not putting you first and you are telling me that it is okay to give all my love in to someone else while you are there watching. You are giving me the opportunity to start seeing other guys as more than friends, you are giving me the time to get to know others on a deeper level and you are giving me the chance to fall in love with someone else. When you say let’s be friends, you are asking me to hurt you. You are asking me to show you what you could have had but chose to lose. When you say let’s be friends, you are saying I am okay with losing you as both more than a friend and a friend. You are saying it is okay to watch me leave and be with someone else and you cannot say anything about it. Because you will realize that you had the chance, that this could have been you if only you tried harder, if only you were not so guarded, if only you did not use timing as an excuse, if only you had let your emotions guide you that one time…you cannot say anything but “if only” and I cannot say anything but “I told you so.” When you say let’s be friends you are asking for an invitation to my wedding day or maybe no invitation at all. When you say let;s be friends, I do not think you know what that means. I do not think you understand how it will change everything between us or how it will change me. When you say let’s be friends, you are asking me to leave you alone, to leave you lonely, to warm someone else up as you stay alone in the cold. When you say let’s be friends, you are saying goodbye. So let me ask you, is that what you really want?

Leave a Reply

